Thailand Open Badminton in 2022
Photo: Bangkok Post

The 2022 Thailand Open is an international badminton championship. This badminton tournament has been organized since 1984, which means it’s pretty old. It’s going to be the 34th edition of the tournament.

Tournament Preview:

Men’s Singles:

Denmark player Viktor Axelsen had been seeded the first place in men’s single. After that, Kento Momota from Japan took second place, and another Denmark player Anders Antonsen got third place in the rank. Chinese Taipei player Chou Tien-Chen, Indonesian Anthony Sinisuka Ginting, and Malaysian Lee Zii Jia continuously got fourth, fifth, d sixth positions in the rank. Another Indonesian, Jonathan Christie, is in the seventh number in the rank, and an Indian player Srikanth Kidambi seeded eighth in the rank.

Women’s Singles:

As usual, Japan and China did pretty well in women’s singles. Tai Tzu-Ying seeded first place. Akane Yamaguchi from Japan, Chen Yufei from China, and An Se-young from South Korea are in the rank’s second, third, and fourth positions. Nozomi Okuhara from Japan, PV Sindhu from India, Ratchanok Intanon from Thailand, and He Bingjiao are next in the rank.

Men’s Doubles:

Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan from Indonesia were seeded first in the rank. Lee Yang and Wang Chi-Lin from Chinese Taipei got second position in the rank. From Japan, Takuro Hoki and Yugo Kobayashi team have come. Indian Satwiksairaj Rankireddy  Chirag Shetty is in the fourth position facing face Wahyu Nayaka and Ade Santoso in the first round.

Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto from Indonesia will be facing Manu Attri and B. Sumeeth Reddy in the first round. Malaysian team Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik have been seeded sixth. Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen are seven and Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi team are eighth in the rank.

Women’s Doubles:

Chen Qingchen and Jia Yifan from China have been seeded first, and they will be facing M Stoliarenko and Yelyzaveta Yurievna Zharka in the first round. Lee So-hee and Shin Seung-chan’s team from South Korea is in the second position in the rank. The third and fourth positions took Kim So-Yeong / Kong Hee-Yong and Yuki Fukushima / Sayaka Hirota teams. Mayu Matsumoto and Wakana Nagahara from Japan will be facing Hu Ling-fang and Lin X-m in the first round.

Nami Matsuyama and Chiharu Shinda from Japan have been seeded sixth, and  Pearly Tan and Thinaah Muralitharan have been seeded seventh. Eight ranked teams, Maiken Fruergaard and Sara Thygesen, will be facing an India team made up of H M Harinarayanan and Ashna Roy in the first round.

Thailand Open 2022 schedule:

Thailand Open Badminton championship will be held at Impact Arena, Pak Kret, Nonthaburi, Thailand.

The championship will start on 17 May, and it’ll be going on till 22 May. 1st round will be held on 18 May; the second round will be held on 19 May, quarter-final will be held on 20 May. After that, the semi-final date is on 21 May, and the final match will be held on 22 May.

How to Live Stream:

BWF’s official Youtube channel BWF TV will give you a chance to watch the live stream of the Thailand Open. In India, the Voot app will stream the tournament.

How to Watch Thailand Open badminton 2022 on TV:

In India, you can watch it live from the Sports18 TV channel. From Malaysia, you can see the live from Astro’s subscription channels.

Thailand Open 2022 is going to happen after all this time. Fans are eagerly waiting for the tournament.

Players List:

Men’s Singles:

  1. Denmark – Viktor Axelsen
  2. Japan – Kento Momota
  3. Denmark – Anders Antonsen
  4. Chinese Taipei – Chou Tien-chen
  5. Indonesia – Anthony Sinisuka Ginting
  6. Malaysia – Lee Zii Jia
  7. Indonesia – Jonathan Christie
  8. India – Srikanth Kidambi

Women’s Singles

  1. Chinese Taipei – Tai Tzu-ying
  2. Japan – Akane Yamugachi
  3. China – Chen Yufei
  4. South Korea – An Se-young
  5. Japan – Nozomi Okuhara
  6. India – PV Sindhu
  7. Thailand – Ratchanok Intanon
  8. China – He Bingjiao

Men’s Doubles

  1. Indonesia – Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan
  2. Chinese Taipei – Lee Yang / Wang Chi – Lin
  3. Japan – Takuro Hoki / Yugo Kobayashi
  4. India – Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty
  5. Indonesia –  Fajar Alfian / Muhammad Rian Ardianto
  6. Malaysia – Aaron Chia / Soh Wooi Yik
  7. Denmark – Kim Astrup / Anders Skaarup Rasmussen
  8. Malaysia – Ong Yew Sin / Teo Ee Yi

Women’s Doubles

  1. China – Chen Qingchen / Jia Yifan
  2. South Korea – Lee So-hee/Shin Seung-chan
  3. South Korea – Kim So-yeong / Kong Hee-yong
  4. Japan – Yuki Fukushima / Sayaka Hirota
  5. Japan – Mayu Matsumoto / Wakana Nagahara
  6. Japan – Nami Matsuyama / Chiharu Shinda
  7. Malaysia – Pearly Tan / Thinaah Muralitharan
  8. Denmark – Maiken Fruergaard / Sara Thygesen

Prize Money:

The total prize fund for the 2022 Thailand Open will be US$360,000, which will be distributed according to BWF rules.

Event Winner Finalist Semi-finals Quarter-finals Last 16
Singles $27,000 $13,680 $5,220 $2,160 $1,260
Doubles $28,440 $13,680 $5,040 $2,610 $1,350

Read Also:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here