Pakistan tour of West Indies: Time, schedule and squad
Photo: Jason Cairnduff/Reuters

Pakistan are touring West Indies for a five-match T20 series and a Test series. The tour will begin in July and end in August, just before the ICC T20 World Cup campaign kicks off in October.

The Pakistan Cricket Board and West Indies Cricket Board had initially planned three Tests and three T20Is for the tour but replaced a Test match with two T20Is, citing the upcoming World Cup.

Both boards mutually agreed that the sides will benefit more from the tour if they play more games of the shortest format of the game.

When is Pakistan vs West Indies?

The first T20 will be played on July 17 while the last Test match will end on August 24.

Where can I watch Pakistan vs West Indies?

Cricket fans can catch the live action on PTV Sports, Hotstar and SonyLIV.

Squad selection

A few heavyweights of franchise cricket have made their way into the T20I squad of West Indies. The Windies board has announced only the T20 squad as of now for upcoming contests against South Africa, Australia, and Pakistan.

Speaking about the squad, WI Coach Phil Simmons seemed confident that the “match-winners” will make it big in the upcoming white-ball series and benefit from the mixture of experienced and fresh campaigners.

Related: Details of the postponed Euro 2020 that will commence in 2021

“These upcoming T20Is are crucial in terms of our preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup. We have assembled a very solid squad — with experienced world-class match-winners and some exciting young talented players, ready to explode onto the global stage and do great things for West Indies cricket,” the West Indies head coach remarked.

“We are at that point where we have identified those who we will look to be the core of the squad to defend our World Cup title, so we want to make sure the upcoming matches create that environment — the way we train, the way we plan, the way we execute and the chemistry within the group,” he added.

Related: India vs New Zealand WTC final: Squads, date, live stream

As for Pakistan, the visitors haven’t yet announced their finalised squad, but it is likely that the team will go ahead with the same players they played in the South Africa series.

PCB Chief Selected Mohammad Wasim had earlier hinted that all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz will be preferred over Imad Wasim until the latter masters the ability to bowl well regardless of the pitch condition.

Newcomer Usman Qadir is another valuable addition who bowled well in the home series against SA as well. Hence, he is likely to make the cut.

West Indies (Confirmed)

Kieron Pollard (C), Nicholas Pooran (VC), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmeyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Evin Lewis, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Pakistan (Probable)

Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Zahid Mehmood, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Arshad Iqbal, Usman Qadir.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here