5 Updates For T20 Cricket World Cup 2022

5 Updates For T20 Cricket World Cup 2022
Photo: AFP

Australia, better known as the Land Down Under, will host the T20 Cricket World Cup 2022. The Australian team is also the current champions of the recently-concluded game, which was moved one year after being suspended due to the pandemic.

With the global situation getting better, the 2021 game pushed through in Oman and the United Arab Emirates. It proved to be a long wait for international cricket fans who didn’t see action from T20 World Cup for five years.

Determined to make up for the lost time, the T20 Australia Cricket Championship 2022 promises exciting matches and will take place just one year following the 2021 championships. But first, let’s brush up on your skills about the T20 cricket game format.

What Is The T20 Cricket World Cup?

The International Cricket Council (ICC) governs the industry and supervises the three main formats of international cricket tournaments: test matches, One-Day Internationals, and the Twenty20 or T20 Cricket World Cup.

Contrary to its name, test matches embody cricket’s most traditional form and have been played since 1877. These formats are typically played in five days for two innings and thus require team endurance and resilience. The 2021 Ashes cricket match between Australia and England and its previous competitions were played using this format.

The ICC acknowledged the creation of One Day Internationals (ODI) in 1971, a shorter version of the traditional cricket game. ODIs feature one-innings of 50 overs per team. The ICC Cricket World Cup follows this format and is staged every four years.

The top three tantrums in tennis history
T20 Cricket World Cup
Photo: Xavier Cailhol

Initially called the ICC World Twenty20, the newest format is known as the T20 World Cup. As the latest cricket format created, it condenses the game further—with only 20 overs per team and lasting no more than 80 minutes per inning. The game can be played in about three hours, making it the shortest and fastest version of all the formats.

Updates For T20 Cricket World Cup

Disclaimer: The ICC and Cricket Australia have yet to announce the final arrangements by January 21. The information contained in this guide is updated as of December 2021. 

When Will The T20 Cricket World Cup 2022 Be?

Created in 2003, players didn’t play the Twenty20 cricket game until 2005. Meanwhile, the T20 World Cup inaugural game was played two years later, in 2007. Since then, there only had been seven tournaments.

The eighth leg of the T20 World Cup is set from October 16 to November 13, 2022, in Australia. Before the T20 Championship on the said date, expect cricket’s power teams to battle it out in these vital game schedules: October 16-21 for the first round and October 22-November 6 for the series called the Super 12s. Before the championship match, teams who earned their spot in the semi-finals will compete from November 9-10.

Where Are The Matches Happening?

Gaming venues are being prepped to host thousands of fans in several Australian cities, including Adelaide, Geelong, Brisbane, Hobart, Perth, Sydney, and Melbourne.

The Adelaide Oval, named after the city where it’s located, can accommodate over 50,000 spectators. In Brisbane, the matches will be held at The Gabba, the city’s most famous sporting events host. Geelong’s Kardinia Park is also one of the chosen venues for the tournament, holding more than 34,000 fans. The Bellerive Oval in Hobart will also see action in one or many games in the first round. The equally famous Perth Stadium will accommodate cricket fans from western Australia.

Shapovalov, Auger-Aliassime lead Canada to first Davis Cup title

These sporting venues will host a total of 48 games in the game’s five-week run. The two semi-finals slated at November 9-10, for instance, will be held in the Adelaide Oval and the Sydney Cricket grounds while premier events center Melbourne Cricket Ground will accommodate the final match on November 13.

Which Teams Are Competing In The T20 World Cup 2022?

This international cricket game has the most competitors with 16 teams. These cricket groups are composed of the most winning teams within a specific period and the rest of the vying teams chosen through the T20 World Cup qualifying games. So far, twelve teams are set to compete for the top prize. These teams include hosts and reigning T20 World Cup champs, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, West Indies, India, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Scotland, South Africa, and Pakistan.

The ICC announced in November 2021 that teams from Sri Lanka, Scotland, West Indies, and Namibia will be playing the first round. The T20 World Cup’s Super 12 matches will likely be played by the other qualified groups mentioned earlier. This governing body will announce the final details on January 21, 2022. Meanwhile, cut-offs for the qualifying games are on May 2022, so the ICC will identify with finality the teams competing in the first round and the Super 12 tournaments.

How Do You Get Tickets To The T20 Cricket World Cup 2022?

Tickets will likely be available in the first part of the year. There’s no definite date yet, but some sites have mentioned T20 Cricket World Cup tickets likely to be offered to the public on February 7, 2022. To determine which tickets to buy, wait until January’s final arrangements are announced and see if your favorite teams might be playing.

These tickets are available online but will likely have limitations due to the pandemic. The best way to access these tickets early is to create an account on online ticketing sites. Tentative prices for the games are yet to be announced.

Kylian Mbappe Surpasses Thierry Henry's World Cup Goals For France

How Do You Get The Latest Updates?

You may check the tournament’s official site at www.t20worldcup.com. In addition, while registering with online ticketing agents, you’ll be asked to provide your e-mail address. Ensure you enter the correct details as these sites will provide you with the latest updates for T20 Cricket World Cup 2022, including pre-public sale ticket information and access.

Final Thoughts

Initially, organizers wished the T20 Cricket World Cup games to happen every two years. But this wasn’t possible for various reasons, including the pandemic in 2020. However, the ICC has lined up several exciting tournaments for international T20 World Cup cricket fans starting this year. So, keep your eyes and ears peeled for the freshest news and information.

Golam Muktadir is the chief editor of Surprise Sports. He checks all the sports content and craft it to make it more digesting for the readers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here