Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
Photo: AP

Bangladesh are ready to pound hosts Sri Lanka in the three-match ODI series to avenge the recent Test series loss.

The visitors lost the two-match Test series 1-0. The first Test ended in a draw whereas the hosts clinched the second game by a staggering 209 runs.

It is now time for Bangladesh to host Sri Lanka for an ODI series. The Tigers will be more than eager to put their horrendous memory of the SL tour behind and bag the coming ODI series fair and square.

When will Bangladesh play Sri Lanka?

The first ODI will be played on May 23, Sunday. The Sher-e-Bangal Stadium in Dhaka will host all matches.

Related: India vs New Zealand WTC final: Squads, date, live stream

The second match will be played on May 25 (Tuesday) and the series finale on May 28, Friday.

Where to watch Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka?

The official YouTube channel of Sri Lanka Cricket is likely to live stream the entire series. Moreover, you can also watch the ODI series live on SonyLiv after subscribing to their package.

Sri Lanka confirm ODI squad

The SL cricket board has named Kusal Perera as the side’s captain in the upcoming away ODI series against Bangladesh. This is how the visitor’s full squad looks like:

Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ashen Bandara, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanka, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya.

Bangladesh include Shakib in the preliminary squad

It seems like the Tigers’ management has mended its ties with star all-rounder after a brief row between the two over alleged misinterpretation of Shakib’s comment over his decision to play the Indian Premier League instead of the Sri Lanka Tests. The left-handed batsman has been included in the ODI side for the SL matches alongside left-arm pace spearhead Mustafiz-ur-Rehman.

These are the players that are part of Bangladesh’s squad:

Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Naim, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Shohidul Islam.

Imrul Kayes has also been gifted a comeback into the white-ball squad. The left-handed opener hasn’t played an ODI since 2018.

Upcoming cricket fixtures

We have listed down all the cricket events that will be held in the international arena till the end of 2021 so that you can keep an eye on your favourite team’s performances.

  • Pakistan tour of Zimbabwe, 2021
    Apr 21 – May 11
  • Scotland tour of Netherlands, 2021
    May 19 – May 21
  • Sri Lanka tour of Bangladesh, 2021
    May 23 – May 28
  • New Zealand tour of England, 2021
    May 25 – Jun 14
  • Ireland tour of Netherlands, 2021
    Jun 04 – Jun 09
  • Sri Lanka tour of England, 2021
    Jun 18 – Jul 04
  • ICC World Test Championship Final 2021
    Jun 18 – Jun 22
  • Pakistan tour of England, 2021
    Jul 08 – Jul 20
  • South Africa tour of Ireland, 2021
    Jul 11 – Jul 25
  • India tour of England, 2021
    Aug 04 – Sep 14
  • Zimbabwe tour of Ireland, 2021
    Aug 06 – Aug 20
  • England tour of Pakistan, 2021
    Oct 14 – Oct 15


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here