Copa America 2021
Photo: AFP

Copa America 2021 is set to kick off in June with the addition of top American sides eager to lift the prestigious trophy this year.

Both Euro 2020 and Copa America will be underway at the same time. Moreover, Qatar and Australia have excused from participating in the event to play the World Cup qualifying rounds.

This is the first time since 1993 that FIFA has not added guest teams into the mix.

When will Copa America begin?

This year’s Copa America will begin on June 13 and the final will be held on July 10, a day before the Euro 2020 final will be conducted.

The competition will be hosted in Argentina. Columbia was accorded the hosting rights as well, but the protests in the country forced the tournament organisers to find another place. Some news reports suggest that the US might host the event as well.

Argentina, which is hosting the competition, has also offered to host the entire event if the organisers fail to find the co-hosts in time.

Read More: Chelsea receive boost in pursuit of Romelu Lukaku transfer

Where can I Live Stream Copa America?

The United Kingdom audience can live stream every game of Copa America on BT Sports. And people who live in other parts of Europe can watch the live-action on beIN Sports.

Fans in the United States can binge the football matches on FOX Sports after subscribing to their package that lets you view all football-related live streams. The channel will be the official broadcaster of Copa America.

People in India can view the games on SonyLIV. For those who will log in to SonyTV without acquiring a subscription, they can watch the football games free as well, but with a five-minute delay.

Read Also: Indy 500 2021: How to Live Stream, Date, Time and Location

Copa America 2021 Schedule

Fixtures for Group Stage

June 13: Argentina vs. Chile
June 13: Paraguay vs. Bolivia
June 14: Brazil vs. Venezuela
June 14: Colombia vs. Ecuador
June 17: Chile vs. Bolivia
June 17: Argentina vs. Uruguay
June 18: Colombia vs. Venezuela
June 18: Peru vs. Brazil
June 20: Uruguay vs. Chile
June 20: Argentina vs. Paraguay
June 21: Venezuela vs. Ecuador
June 21: Colombia vs. Peru
June 23: Bolivia vs. Uruguay
June 23: Chile vs. Paraguay
June 24: Ecuador vs. Peru
June 24: Colombia vs. Brazil
June 27: Argentina vs. Bolivia
June 28: Ecuador vs. Brazil
June 28: Venezuela vs. Peru

Fixtures for Knockout Stages

Quarterfinal 1, July 2: No. 2 Group A vs. No. 3 Group B
Quarterfinal 2, July 2: No. 1 Group A vs. No. 4 Group B
Quarterfinal 3, July 3: No. 2 Group B vs. No. 3 Group A
Quarterfinal 4, July 3: No. 1 Group B vs. No. 4 Group A
Semifinal 1: July 5, Quarterfinal 1 Winner vs. Quarterfinal 2 winner
Semifinal 2: July 6, Quarterfinal 3 Winner vs. Quarterfinal 4 winner
Third-Place Match, July 9: Semifinal 1 Loser vs. Semifinal 2 Loser
Final, July 10: Semifinal 1 Winner vs. Semifinal 2 Winner

Read More: Liverpool vs West Bromwich Albion: Time, prediction and squads

Which teams are favourites to win Copa America?

Brazil is the reigning Copa America champions and they are definitely one of the favourites to wear the crown once again. Neymar Jr. will lead the side and the likes of young sensations will bolster their chances at the tournament.

Argentina will be an obvious favourite for the tournament. This is possibly the last time football fans will see Lionel Messi feature in Copa America.

The six-time Balon d’Or winner will do his best to lead the team to their maiden international glory under his leadership.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here