Details of the postponed 2020 Euro that will commence in 2021
Photo: @equipedefrance/Twitter

The prestigious Euro 2020 that was pushed a year ahead due to the coronavirus pandemic will commence from June 21, 2021.

The star-studded tournament will be hosted in 12 different cities of Germany, Italy, and England. Fifty-one countries will participate in the event that will last for nearly a month.

The famous Wembley Stadium in London will host the final on July 11 (Sunday).

Euro 2020 Venues

Following are the stadiums that will host matches of Euro 2020:

  1. Stadio Olimpico, Rome
  2. Olympic Stadium, Baku
  3. St Petersburg Stadium, Saint Petersburg
  4. Parken Stadium, Copenhagen
  5. Johan Cruijff Arena, Amsterdam
  6. National Arena, Bucharest
  7. Wembley Stadium, London
  8. Hampden Park, Glasgow
  9. Estadio de San Mames, Bilbao
  10. Dublin Arena, Dublin
  11. Fußball Arena Munchen, Munich

Euro 2020 groups

  1. Group A: Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales
  2. Group B: Belgium, Russia, Denmark, Finland
  3. Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands, Austria, Play-off D or Play-off A winner
  4. Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, Play-off C winner
  5. Group E: Spain, Poland, Sweden, Play-off B winner
  6. Group F: Germany, France, Portugal, Play-off D or Play-off A winner

Even though Group F awaits its fourth participant, it is arguable the group of death.

Related: Liverpool vs West Bromwich Albion: Time, prediction and squads

The likes of Germany, France and Euro 2016 winners Portugal will put up a stunning competition for football fanatics.

How can I watch Euro 2020?

You can view the live broadcast of Euro 2020 on various channels, depending on your location. Football fans in Asia can catch live action on either ESPN or Sony after acquiring a monthly subscription package.

Related: Real Madrid’s Eden Hazard to make comeback in UCL clash against Chelsea

Other fans worldwide can tune in to Star-Times, SuperSport, beIN Sports, or Canal+ Afrique as well.

Football stars who will miss Euro 2020

There are several big names who will not be able to make it to the tournament this year.

  • The first big fish is Sweden forward Zlatan Ibrahimovic who will miss Euro 2020 due to a knee injury. This is a big blow for the Swedish side as Ibrahimovic had even withdrawn his retirement from international football for the coming event.

  • Norway teenage prodigy Erling Haaland, who has taken the world by storm with his goal-scoring abilities, will not be able to make a mark at Euro 2020. This is because Norway lost 1-2 to Serbia in the qualification stage. Similarly, Martin Ortegard will miss the competition as well. The Real Madrid starlet is currently on loan to Arsenal.
  • Armenia star Henrikh Mkhitaryan is another big name on the list. The former Manchester United man failed to guide his country past the qualifying stage. Armenia eventually crumbled after losing 1-9 to Italy in the game held on November 19, 2019.
  • Juka Jovic was successful in scoring a late equalizer for Serbia in the final qualification round match, but it was not enough to take his country home against Scotland. Hence, the Real Madrid loanee will not taste international glory in Euro 2020.
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina and Barcelona superstar Miralem Pjanic will have to skip this tournament as well as his side crashed out of Euro 2020’s qualification stage. Bosnia lost to Northern Island in the final match which ended in a thrilling penalty shootout.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here