FIFA World Cup Champions List 1930 to 2018

The FIFA World Cup is often regarded as the most prestigious soccer tournament that can be played anywhere in the world. The World Cup is a competition that occurs once every four years and lasts one month. It features the best national teams from 32 different countries.

Who will emerge victorious at the twenty-second edition of the quadrennial football competition known as the FIFA World Cup in 2022? The following is a list of every team that won the FIFA World Cup between 1930 and 2018.

The champion of the 2022 FIFA World Cup has not been determined as of yet. The championship game of the FIFA World Cup 2022 will take place on December 18 of that same year.

Uruguay emerged victorious in the inaugural competition for the FIFA World Cup, which took place in 1930 and featured a total of 13 nations.

With five victories, Brazil established itself as the most successful team in the annals of the FIFA World Cup competition.

Germany and Italy, both of which have won four FIFA World Cups, are the other two teams that now hold the second place winning the FIFA World Cup. They both won the prize 4 times. Germany last lifted the World Cup in 2014. They defeated Brazil 7-1 in the semi-final of that World Cup and beat Argentina in the Final 1-0.

France, Argentina, and Uruguay won it twice over their respective histories.

In 2018, Russia played host to the final tournament of the FIFA World Cup. It was the twenty-first edition of the FIFA World Cup, also referred to as the 21st FIFA World Cup. France is the squad that emerged victorious from the 2018 FIFA World Cup. In 2018 France defeated Croatia in the final with a score line 4-2.

There have been 17 different nations that have played host to the FIFA World Cup. 

World War 2 prevented the World Cup from being held in 1942 and 1946; those years were skipped.

The following is a list of all of the FIFA World Cup champions from 1930 to 2018.

Years Winner Runner Up Score
1930 Uruguay Argentina 4-2
1934 Italy Czechia 2-1
1938 Italy Hungary 4-2
1950 Uruguay Brazil 2-1
1954 West Germany Hungary 3-2
1958 Brazil Sweden 5-2
1962 Brazil Czechia 3-1
1966 England Germany 4-2
1970 Brazil Italy 4-1
1974 West Germany Netherlands 2-1
1978 Argentina Netherlands 3-1
1982 Italy Germany 3-1
1986 Argentina Germany 3-2
1990 West Germany Argentina 1-0
1994 Brazil Italy 0-0
1998 France Brazil 3-0
2002 Brazil Germany 2-0
2006 Italy France 1-1
2010 Spain Netherlands 1-0
2014 Germany Argentina 1-0
2018 France Croatia 4-2

Nations with the most World Cup

  • Brazil – 5 times (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002)
  • Italy – 4 times (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006)
  • Germany – 4 times (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014)
  • Uruguay – 2 times (1930, 1950)
  • Argentina – 2 times (1978, 1986)
  • France – 2 times (1998, 2018)
  • England – 1 time (1966)
  • Spain – 1 time (2010)


Who won the World Cup the most?

Brazil won the World Cup the most. They won the prize 5 times (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002).

Who won the 2018 World Cup?

The 2018 World Cup was held in Russia. France won the World Cup. They won the Final against Croatia with a 4-2 victory.

How many times has Brazil won the World Cup?

Brazil won the World Cup 5 times.

How many times has Germany won the World Cup?

Germany won the World cup 4 times.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports and Surprise Movies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here