FIFA Qatar World Cup 2022
Photo: Sporting News

On April 1, the FIFA World Cup 2022 final draw will take place in Doha, Qatar. It will be conducted in front of 2000 VIP guests at the Doha Exhibition & Convention Center.

The final round of FIFA’s six confederations qualifications will take place over the approaching international break in the last week of March. A total of 32 teams will compete for a spot in the main event. It will take place in November 2022.

The 32 teams will be divided into eight groups, each with an equal number of players. The draw will aid the teams and their supporters in determining their likely path to the FIFA World Cup final. It will be held on December 18, 2022, at the 80,000-capacity Lusial Stadium.

The FIFA World Cup draw is usually held after each team’s participation has been determined. Because of the Covid-19 pandemic’s delays in qualifying, there will still be three seats left unclear at the time of the draw. Two intercontinental playoffs will be held in Qatar on June 13 and 14. It will be to determine two of the last three berths: Asia’s fifth-place team vs. CONMEBOL’s fifth-place squad. And Concacaf’s fourth-place team vs. Oceania’s first-place team.

In addition, due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, UEFA’s World Cup qualifying playoffs have yet to be established. While Russia was prevented from playing in its playoff against Poland, Ukraine was allowed to postpone their playoff against Scotland until June, which means the winner of that match will face the winner of the Wales-Austria encounter soon after, in June.

So far, ten European nations have confirmed their participation. They are Germany, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland, and the Netherlands. With three more expected to join following the March play-offs (Wales/Austria v Scotland/Ukraine, Poland vs Sweden/Czech Republic Portugal/Turkey vs Italy/North Macedonia). The Scotland v Ukraine tie is being rescheduled for June.

Brazil and Argentina, perennial rivals in South America, have already qualified. They will be joined by two more CONMEBOL nations, while five African nations will compete once their qualification play-offs are determined in March.

Iran and South Korea have qualified from Asia and will be joined by two more nations from the area after qualifiers are completed. According to CONCACAF, the United States, Mexico, and Canada are the front-runners for a place in Qatar.

Read Also:

Mushfiq is obsessed with Golf. From his passion for Golf to becoming a lead writer in the golf category, his journey was quite awesome. Mushfiq covers all the Golf events and net worth information of players in Surprise Sports.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here