From Jon Jones to GSP, here are the longest UFC title reigns
Photo: AFP

The UFC has brought out the best of its fighters in its 28-year history, but a few names stand head and shoulders above everyone.

We have compiled a list of the top five UFC starlets who dominated their respective divisions for a long time by extending their title reigns.

5. Jon Jones

Jon Jones might have moved to the heavyweight division, but no true UFC fanatic can forget his antics in the light-heavyweight division. He remained a UFC champ for over four years after he defeated Shogun Rua in 2011.

Related: Everything you need to know about UFC 263 Adesanya vs Vettori

The then 23-year-old Jones is the youngest fighter in the organization’s history and what makes his title win even more spectacular is the fact that he stepped in to fight Shogun Rua on short notice.

Bony then went on to rule the division for four more years before he was stripped of the belt for drug abuse. In a USADA testing, the champ tested positive for steroids.

4. Jose Aldo

Jose Aldo junior is one of the best martial artists Brazil has ever produced. He rose to fame in WEC after thumping Mike Brown to wear the featherweight crown. Aldo junior defended his title a staggering seven more times after WEC was merged with the UFC.

Related: Kamaru Usman explains why McGregor is ‘just a regular fighter now’

His title reign, which lasted for nearly five years, came to end against Conor “The Notorious” McGregor. However, ever since his loss against the Irishman, the Scarface hasn’t been the same as he lost one too many fights since then.

3. GSP

George St. Pierre is as good as they come. The Canadian fighter was a dominant force in the welterweight division who ruled the division for 2,084 days (six years) before he took a break from fighting.

Brandon Moreno 2022: Net Worth, Salary, Earnings, and Wife

He’s one of the few fighters in UFC fighters who are multi-division champions. GSP became a middleweight champion in his return to the UFC in 2017 against Michael Bisping.

2. Demetrius Johnson

Demetrius Johnson is yet another name who took the UFC by storm in his prime. Now a ONE Championship representative, the Mighty Mouse ruled the flyweight division for nearly six years.

He defended his UFC strap a whopping 11 times before suffering defeat to Henry Cejudo. At 32, DJ is still a formidable force in the Singapore-based mixed martial arts promotion.

1. Anderson Silva

Anderson Silva enjoyed one of the longest careers with the UFC before he hung his gloves in 2021. Apart from being a skilled knockout artist, the Brazilian superstar helped the sport achieve global recognition with his electrifying performances.

Watch: UFC star Jon Jones sprints 20mph on the treadmill

He defended his UFC strap 16 times which is still a record in the organization. The Spiderman got too comfortable in the title fight against Chris Weidman, who stopped his six-year-long run at UFC 162 via an inch-perfect KO punch.

Some of the legendary fighters who were victims in Silva’s win streak include Rich Franklin, Dan Henderson, Patrick Cote, Forest Griffin, Chael Sonnen, and Vitor Belfort.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here