BCB Taskin Ahmed
Photo: The Indian Express

The Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced a 16-man squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka where they have axed Taskin Ahmed, Shadman Islam Anik, Abu Jayed Chowdhury while including Rejaur Rahman Raja.

Express pacer Taskin Ahmed has been dropped as he is ruled out of the series due to his shoulder injury.

His fellow left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam was also likely to rule out due to his abdominal issues and will undergo surgery in Singapore within this month. However, he has been put up subject to his availability.

Pacer Abu Jayed Chowdhury who had been included in the squad but omitted in the playing XI in the last few series has been overlooked due to his deem performances.

His fellow opener Shadman Islam Anik who failed to go beyond 30 in his last five games has also been dropped for the same reason.

On the contrary young pacer, Rejaur Rahman Raja has been rewarded a place in the national fold due to his performances in the domestic circuit.

Apart from the first-class cricket in his last eight games in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League, he claimed 11 wickets for Prime Bank Cricket Club.

The Sri Lanka cricket team will arrive in Bangladesh on May 8 for a two-match series which is a part of the 2021-2023 ICC World Test Championship.

The first Test will start at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chattogram on May 15 while the second Test commences at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Dhaka on 23 May:


Mominul Haque Showrab (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Kumer Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam (subject to fitness)

Who is the Richest Cricketer in the World in 2022?

Read More:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here