Bangladesh women’s cricket team
Photo: Cricket Country

Bangladesh women’s team conceded a thrashing 110-run defeat against India in their fifth tie in the ICC World Cup.

Yastika Bhatia hit a fifty while Sneh Rana claimed four-wicket-haul to Power the Indian women’s team a thrashing 110-run win over Bangladesh in the ICC World Cup at Hamilton on Tuesday.

Yastika Bhatia scored 50 off 80 balls while Shafali Verma, Pooja Vastrakar, and Sneh Rana chipped with a run-ball 42, 30 off 33, and 27 off 23 balls respectively to catapult 229-7 for India.

Sneh Rana claimed 4-30 while Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar took two each, and Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad concluded with one each to bundle out Bangladesh for 119 in 40.3 overs.

For the Tigress, Salma Khatun scored the highest 32 off 35 balls while other batters failed to go beyond 25 runs.

With the ball, Ritu Moni claimed 3 while Nahida Akter and Jahanara Alam finished with 2 and 1 wicket.

Batting first after winning in the toss, India made a decent start however they couldn’t carry on the momentum as their top three batters Smrity Mandhana, Shafali Verma, and Mithali Raj were removed for 30, 42, 0 by Nahida Akter and Ritu Moni respectively that shortened them to 74-3 in 15.3 overs.

In the fourth wicket stand, Yastika Bhatia and Harmanpreet Kaur added 34 runs to reconstruct the innings but the partnership ended when the latter was trapped run out for 14.

In the next stand, Yastika Bhatia and Richa Ghosh formed a 54-run partnership to put India upfront however the duo couldn’t go forth after Richa Ghosh gave a catch to Nigar Sultana for 26 off 36 balls in 38.5 overs.

Yastika Bhatia followed her footstep just five overs later to leave side to a moderate 176-6.

In the seventh wicket stand, Sneh Rana and Pooja Vastrakar added a quick fire 48 off 38 balls to garner 229-7.

Champions League Twenty20: History and Winners List of CLT20

In reply, Bangladesh made a frustrating start as they lost their top five batters for 35 runs inside the twenty over.

In the sixth and seventh wicket stand Salma Khatun- Lata Mondal, Lata Mondal-Ritu Moni added 40, 23 runs respectively, however, it just lessened the run difference.

Read Also:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here