London Marathon 2021
Photo: Metro

The London Marathon 2021 is taking place today with athletes and the public ready to take on the 26-mile beast. The day’s events begin with the 2.6-kilometer Mini London Marathon, which starts at 8.30 am BST.

HOW TO WATCH

OCTOBER

3

2021

Venue: Blackheath in Greenwich

TV Channel: BBC One

TIME

8.30

AM/BST

Click Here To Live Stream on BBC iPlayer

(Sign up now for a free 7-day trial.)

Preview:

his year’s event welcomes back ametuar and fun runners after last year’s race were limited to elite runners, while a limited number of spectators are set to be in attendance along the 26.2-mile route through the UK capital.

The stage is set for a brilliant mass-participation race. It’s been 889 days since the last mass-participation London Marathon due to Coronavirus restrictions, so for many runners, this is the day they’ve been training for years.

In the elite race, London Marathon 2020 men’s winner, Shura Kitata, will be back to defend his title. Vincent Kipchumba and Sisay Lemma who were also on the podium in the elite-only 2020 London Marathon also returning to the race.

In the women’s elite field, reigning champion Brigid Kosgei will be attempting to win her third successive London Marathon, following her Olympic silver medal in the Tokyo Olympic Games. Also lining up on the start line is reigning New York City Marathon winner Joyciline Jepkosgei, as well as Ethiopian runners Roza Dereje and Birhane Dibaba, both of whom have marathon PR’s of under 2 hours 20 minutes.

In the wheelchair race, some of the best wheelchair racers in the world return to the streets of London. Defending champions Brent Lakatos and Nikita den Boer will both be on the start line, as well as David Weir, the most decorated athlete in London Marathon history, who will return to race his 22nd London Marathon in front of a home crowd.

Here in this article, we gathered some information regarding the London Marathon 2021. We discuss event time, schedule, route map, TV channel, live streaming guide, and more.

Where and when is the London Marathon 2021 taking place?

The world’s most competitive marathon – the 2021 Virgin Money London Marathon takes place on Sunday, October 3 this year.

The 2.6-kilometer Mini London Marathon, which starts at 8.30 am BST, 3.30 am ET, 6.30 pm AEST.

The elite wheelchair race then begins at 8.50 am BST, 3.50 am ET, 6.50 pm AEST.

Elite women’s London Marathon starts at 9 am BST, 4 am ET, 7 pm AEST.

Elite men’s race starts at 9.30 am BST, 4.30 am ET, 8.30 pm AEST – the same time as the mass starts.

Event schedule:

Elite wheelchair race:

  • 8:50 a.m. BST / 3:50 a.m. ET / 12:50 a.m. PT

Elite women start:

  • 9:00 a.m. BST / 4:00 a.m. ET / 1:00 a.m. PT

Elite men and mass-participation start:

  • 9:30 a.m. BST / 4:30 a.m. ET/ 1:30 a.m. PT

How to Watch London Marathon 2021 Live Stream Online?

The London Marathon live stream is available on BBC iPlayer and on FloTrack. Dedicated athletics service FloTrack will be airing the Marathon exclusively in a whole host of regions, including the US, Canada, and Australia.

A subscription is required to watch the London Marathon which costs you US$29.99 per month. FloTrack gives you access to exclusive live and on-demand coverage of a huge list of elite track and field events across the athletics calendar.

How to Watch London Marathon Live on TV for FREE?

The London Marathon is broadcasting live on BBC One and on BBC Two for free. The network will be splitting coverage across BBC One, BBC Two, its Red Button service, BBC iPlayer, and the BBC Sport website.

Coverage begins on BBC Two at 8 am BST, before moving over to BBC One at 10 am.

Read More: Great Manchester Run 2021: Live Stream, Time, Route Map

If you are not in the UK, here are some worldwide broadcaster lists for you to watch the 2021 London Marathon. Take a look below.

TerritoryBroadcaster
Australia, Canada & USAFlotrack
BrazilSportTV 2
ChinaGreat Sports Channel
China, Japan & MENA*Olympic Channel
EuropeEBU
GermanyZDF
IsraelSport 1
KenyaNTV
New ZealandSky Sport 6
NorwayNRK 1
Pan AfricaSuperSport Variety 3 and 4
Pan Asia & Pan Europe*Eurosport 2
Pan Asia & Pan Europe*Eurosport Player
Pan Asia & Pan Europe*Discovery+
Pan Latin America*ESPN Play
Pan Latin America*Star+
SpainTeledeporte
SwitzerlandSRG-SSR
TanzaniaZBC2
UgandaNTV
Worldwide (excluding the UK)Reuters
Worldwide (excluding the UK)SNTV

Route for the Marathon:

The start is near Blackheath in Greenwich, mile six will see runners go past the Cutty Sark, and next at mile 12 they will see the Shard. The next milestone is at mile 18 where participants will run through Canary Wharf with the London Eye and Parliament at mile 25. Then the finish line is at the Mall by Buckingham Palace.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here