How to Watch Bowls Premier League

The popular Aussie bowls tournament is here once again. Bowls Premier League 2023 has been announced to begin this Monday in Australia. Here we have the Bowls Premier League live streaming details, full schedule, preview, and more.

Bowls Premier League is a biannual bowl tournament held in Australia. Various popular professional bowl teams from different parts of the country participate in the event.

The Aussie bowl event was established in 2013 and has been running in a biannual format. The upcoming Bowls Premier League 2023 will mark the 17th edition of the event.

Bowls Australia currently hosts BPL. A total of 10 teams from different Australian cities participate in the event. The competition runs for four days over a double round-robin format.

Like every year, the BPL will maintain Bowls’s fast and attractive Twenty20 format. Let’s have a look at the most important information about the latest Bowls Premier League event.

Bowls Premier League 2023 Schedule

  • Start Date: Monday, February 20, 2023
  • End Date: Friday, February 24, 2023

The 17th Bowls Premier League 2023 is scheduled to begin on February 20, 2023. First-round games will begin at 09:00 p.m. ET on Monday. Following 18 rounds of games and a playoff stage, the event will conclude on Sunday, February 21, 2023.

See the full schedule below.

Date Round Time (ET)
Monday, February 20 1



09:00 p.m.

10:15 p.m.

11:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 21 4




06:30 p.m.

07:45 p.m.

09:30 p.m.

12 a.m. – 05:00 a.m.

Wednesday, February 22 8





05:00 p.m.

06:15 p.m.

07:30 p.m.

09:15 p.m.

12 a.m. – 05:00 a.m.

Thursday, February 23 13




06:30 p.m.

07:45 p.m.

09:30 p.m.

12 a.m. – 05:00 a.m.

Friday, February 24 17


07:00 p.m.

08:30 p.m.

Playoff 12:00 a.m. – 03:45 a.m.
Final 05:00 a.m.


  • Venue: Moama Bowling Club
  • Location: Moama, Australia

The premier indoor sports & entertainment arena, Moama Bowling Club, will host the latest Bowling Premier League 2023. It is located in Moama, Australia. The following 18th BLP is scheduled to start this November 13. It will be held at the Club Pine Rivers.

Participating Teams

The 17th Bowls Premier League will feature the following 10 teams

  • Adelaide Pioneers
  • Brisbane Pirates
  • Gold Coast Hawks
  • Melbourne eXtreme
  • Melbourne Puls
  • Moama Steamers
  • Perth Suns
  • Sydney Lions
  • Tasmania Tridents
  • Tweed Heads Ospreys

How to Watch Bowls Premier League 2023 on TV

  • Fox Sports
  • Sky Sports NZ

Bowls Premier League will be a made-for-television showpiece event, similar to the previous iterations. This year’s tournament organizers have partnered with Fox Sports to air the event live in Australia. Additionally, it will be available to watch on tv via Sky Sports NZ in New Zealand.

Where to Watch the Live Stream?

  • Bowls Australia Facebook
  • Kayo Sports

Free live streams of the Bowls Premier League 2023 will be officially available via the Bowls Australia Facebook page online. Additionally, Kayo Sports subscribers will also get exclusive live streams and news on the ongoing Australia bowls event on both the VOD streaming platform and their mobile app.

Prize Money

The BPL competition carries a $100,000 prize pool, with the winning franchise collecting $25,000.


The competition’s first edition was held in November 2013 under the name Australian Premier League. The inaugural clubs were Adelaide Endurance, Brisbane Gold, Melbourne Roys, New Zealand Blackjacks, Perth Suns, and Sydney Lions, with Brisbane winning the first title.

Two different teams – the Murray Steamers and the Gold Coast Hawks – joined the competition in 2014 to expand the competition to eight. The Murray Steamers defeated Adelaide Endurance in the final of the 2014 competition to be champions for the event’s second running.

In 2016, Bowls Australia announced there would be two tournaments held per year starting in 2017, with one event staged in Auckland and the traditional event at Club Pine Rivers in Brisbane, Queensland. The competition also underwent a name change to reflect the inclusion of the New Zealand leg, renaming to Bowls Premier League.

The Australian leg of the BPL has always been held in November, while the first edition of the New Zealand event was held in March.

Adelaide Endurance was replaced by Illawarra Gorillas in 2017.

BPL10 in 2019 marked a significant shift in the competition, as three teams – Gold Coast Hawks, Illawarra Gorillas, and New Zealand Blackjacks – did not renew their license. This opened the door to three new teams – Adelaide Pioneers, Melbourne Pulse, and Tweed Heads Ospreys.

In February 2020, Moama Bowling Club hosted the first BPL outside of Brisbane and New Zealand, with the New Zealand version of the event heading to the Victoria-NSW border town until at least 2022.

BPL12, planned to be hosted by Club Pine Rivers in November 2020, was postponed due to COVID. Moama eventually hosted the event in February 2021, with Club Pine Rivers hosting BPL13 and BPL14 later that year.

BPL14 was later moved to Moama and played in February 2022. The league expanded to 10 teams, dropping the Melbourne Roys and adding the Tasmania Tridents, Melbourne eXtreme, and Gold Coast Hawks. The Murray Steamers changed their name to the Moama Steamers.

BPL15 occurred in late May 2022 at Pine Rivers, with the same 10 teams in the competition.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports and Surprise Movies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here